Friday, December 16, 2005

U.S, World Heritage Sites

Wrangel-St. Elias-Glacier Bay/Kluane-Tatshenshini-Alsek
NPS photo

Go to the National Park Service website.

There are twenty (20) World Heritage sites in the United States (including two sites jointly administered with Canada). They are mapped and described on this websitem which is a joint effort between the United States Department of the Interior, National Park Service (NPS) and the United States Committee, International Council on Monuments and Sites (US/ICOMOS). Throughout the world, national ICOMOS committees work to support the World Heritage Convention. In the United States, the NPS serves as chief steward of the nation's natural and cultural patrimony.

No comments: