Monday, July 07, 2008

Eight new sites added to UNESCO’s World Heritage List

The World Heritage Committee meeting in Quebec City has added eight new cultural sites to UNESCO’s World Heritage List on the morning of the 7 of July. With these inscriptions, Papua New Guinea and San Marino enter the World Heritage List for the first time.

The new sites inscribed are:

  • Melaka and George Town, historic cities of the Straits of Malacca (Malaysia)
  • Kuk Early Agricultural Site (Papua New Guinea)
  • Stari Grad Plain (Croatia)
  • Fortifications of Vauban (France)
  • Berlin Modernism Housing Estates (Germany)
  • Mantua and Sabbioneta
  • San Marino Historic Centre and Mount Titano (San Marino)
  • The Wooden Churches of the Slovak part of Carpathian Mountain Area (Slovakia)
Read more!

Click here to see video of the sites
(Windows Media Player required)

No comments: