Friday, September 22, 2006

National Commissions for UNESCO

Every member nation of UNESCO has a National Commission -- 192 in all. The NatCom's were conceived at the very creation of UNESCO, sixty years ago, to enable civil society to participate fully in the organization. They provide a means for educators, the scientific community, and cultural leaders to interact with UNESCO. Indeed, NatCom's often sponsor UNESCO activities in their countries, especially in developing nations.

Here are links to some of the websites for the NatCom's of English Speaking nations. Check out the information they provide:
* United States
* United Kingdom
* Canada
* Australia
* New Zealand
This UNESCO website provides information on the activities of the National Commissions, as well as a complete list and contact information.

No comments: