Sunday, November 20, 2005

U.S. World Heritage Sites

Go to the National Park Service "World Heritage Sites"home page.

There are twenty (20) World Heritage sites in the United States (including two sites jointly administered with Canada). The U.S. Department of the Interior, in cooperation with the Federal Interagency Panel for World Heritage has identified many more sites (cultural and natural) as likely to meet the criteria for future nomination to the World Heritage List. This tentative list is available for viewing.

This website is a joint effort between the U.S. National Park Service (NPS) and the United States Committee of the International Council on Monuments and Sites (US/ICOMOS). Throughout the world, national ICOMOS committees work to support the World Heritage Convention.

In the United States, the NPS serves as chief steward of the nation's natural and cultural patrimony. The Secretary of the Interior, through the National Park Service, is responsible for identifying and nominating U.S. sites to the list. The Service's Office of International Affairs provides staff support for U.S. participation in the World Heritage Convention.

1 comment:

job opportunitya said...

Suitable blog, its very good. I liked the site its
from so much I have to visit it again! I surf the web
for blogs like yours in my spare time.
I hope you had a chance to check out my audio conference calling blog.